For Beth Orton, it’s always been about the songwriting

 

 

It’s not something a lot of recording artists have ever done but, when she was 19 years old, singer/songwriter Beth Orton spent three months in an Asian Buddhist monastery.

The 41-year-old Brit, who headlines “Mountain Stage’s” return to the Culture Center this Sunday, said, “I did, at one point. I did it because I got the opportunity and I thought, ‘I’d never do this again.’

“I really got into it, I guess. I really loved living with these people. I loved meditating, and I loved the experience of something so completely other than what I’d known before.

“Yeah,” she added. “It kind of pulled me in.”

Orton said the spiritual experience opened the way for her to become who she is an artist.

“After the monastery,” she said, “I started writing songs.”

Orton wrote a lot of songs. Over the course of her career, which began in the early 1990s, Orton has recorded six albums, two EPs and collaborated with artists such as Grammy-winner William Orbit, electronica duo The Chemical Brothers and Scottish folksinger Bert Jansch.

She’s toured extensively and was part of Sarah McLachlin’s Lilith Fair in 1999. Her music has been featured in films like “Vanilla Sky,” and television shows including “Dawson’s Creek” and “Grey’s Anatomy.”

WANT TO GO?

“Mountain Stage”

With Beth Orton, Jesse Harris, David Wax Museum, Lucy Kaplansky and Barnaby Bright

WHERE: Culture Center Theater

WHEN: 7 p.m.

TICKETS: Advance $15, at the door $25

INFO: 800-549-TIXX or www.mountainstage.org

The Charleston Gazette

Leave a Reply

