Motherhood for Beth Orton sounds so good

Singer-songwriter Beth Orton performs today at Pappy & Harriet's in Pioneertown.

If you go

What: Beth Orton with James Bay live in concert

When: 7 p.m. today Where: Pappy and Harriet’s Pioneertown Palace, 53688 Pioneertown Road, Pioneertown

Information: (760) 365-5956 or www.pappyandharriets.com

<!–individual: 10 numChar :2510 –>

Beth Orton is a busy lady. In 2012, the British singer-songwriter released her first album after six years and toured while juggling  two kids.When we  caught up with Orton, she was busy calming the storm that was 6-year-old Nancy and 22-month-old Arthur.  Loud crashing sounds and screams of “mama” could be heard on the other line.“It comes in waves of chaos and it goes away again,” the 42-year-old  said.  “I did have babysitting, I promise.”

Fresh off touring in Australia and New Zealand, Orton will make a trek to the high desert  for her first-ever performance at Pappy and Harriet’s — with kids in tow.

“I love taking them with me and they love it,” Orton said. “I’m very excited to play there. Every time I mention it to anyone that I was playing Pappy and Harriet’s, they get incredibly overexcited.”

Orton, best known for what many call “folktronica,” dropped her first record in 1993. “SuperPinkyMandy” was released in Japan only and showcased Orton electronic sensibilities.  Her sophomore effort, “Trailer Park,” was released to critical acclaim.

In 2006, Orton became pregnant with Nancy. During the late stages of pregnancy, she was forced to cancel her forthcoming UK tour upon doctors’ advice.

It would be six more years before Orton would return with another album. “Sugaring Season,” her latest effort, was released last October. The record has been  praised or its matured sound. Some discuss its acoustic qualities. Overall the record showcases how far Orton has become as a musician.

“I’ve been meaning to make this record,” she said. “What I’ve always done is more acoustic. It’s just that for some reason on this record it seems more pronounced to more people I suppose. But yeah it’s always been there. Maybe it’s just a bit more realized now.”

When asked about how her children has affected her music, Orton first comments on how cliché the question is but admits she completely understands the stereotype.

“I am a woman so let’s all talk about how I have a baby and la-la-la-la-la like you wouldn’t ask a man that question, but at the same time it’s like I just feel like it has affected everything,” she said. “It’s affected the way I work. Even on the most practical level, it’s affected me. I think it’s affected me in all sorts of deeper ways as well. And I think too when you grow a human inside of you and then pop it out, how do you live with the aftermath of that. But that’s quite an experience it will affect how you view the world and it’ll affect how you write as well.”

Leave a Reply

